LINKS

This list is provided to readers for a convenient way to access information on the sites profiled in the book. These links are organized according to the order of chapters featured in the guide and will be updated as required.

THE NEIGHBORHOODS

NORTH BEACH
Columbus Avenue

City Lights Bookstore – http://www.yelp.com/biz/city-lights-bookstore-san-francisco

Vesuvio – http://www.yelp.com/biz/vesuvio-cafe-san-francisco

Spec’s –  http://www.sfweekly.com/bestof/2009/award/best-north-beach-bar-1525193/

Mario’s Bohemian Cigar Store –  http://www.yelp.com/biz/marios-bohemian-cigar-store-cafe-san-francisco

Molinari Deli –  http://www.yelp.com/biz/molinari-delicatessen-san-francisco

Grant Street

101 Music – http://www.yelp.com/biz/101-music-san-francisco-3

Nature Stop market –  http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-nature-stop-san-francisco

Tony’s Pizza – http://www.yelp.com/biz/tonys-pizza-napoletana-san-francisco

Grant and Green Saloon – http://www.yelp.com/biz/grant-and-green-saloon-san-francisco

Broadway

The Beat Museum – http://www.kerouac.com/visit/

Condor Club – http://www.condorsf.com/index

WATERFRONT

Bike rental operations along the Embarcadero – http://thebikehut.org/

Rent kayaks at Mission Creek – http://www.citykayak.com/rental.htm

Tour Alcatraz — http://www.nps.gov/alca/index.htm

The Embarcadero

Exploratorium – http://www.exploratorium.edu/visit

Red’s Java House – http://www.redsjavahouse.com/index2.php#/rtext_6

AT&T Park – http://sanfrancisco.giants.mlb.com/sf/ballpark/information/index.jsp

The Ramp – http://theramprestaurant.com/Directions

Ferry Building – http://www.ferrybuildingmarketplace.com/visitors.php

Fort Mason

Fort Mason community garden – http://www.yelp.com/biz/fort-mason-community-garden-san-francisco

Green’s – www.greensrestaurant.com

Fisherman’s Wharf

Boudin Bakery – http://www.boudinbakery.com/at-the-wharf

Hyde Street Pier –  http://www.yelp.com/biz/hyde-street-pier-san-francisco

USS Pampanito –   http://www.maritime.org/hours.htm

Aquatic Park –  http://www.nps.gov/safr/planyourvisit/aquaticparkcove.htm

Aquarium of the Bay –  http://aquariumofthebay.org/pages/detail/309

PRESIDIO

Bay Area Ridge Trail –  http://www.ridgetrail.org/interactive_map/&Itemid=99

Crissy Field – http://www.parksconservancy.org/visit/park-sites/crissy-field.html

Warming Hut – http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-warming-hut-san-francisco

Farallones Marine Sanctuary Association visitor center – http://www.farallones.org/education/visitor_center.php

Golden Gate bridge – http://www.everytrail.com/guide/walking-the-golden-gate-bridge

Main Post

Presidio Bowling alley – http://www.yelp.com/biz/presidio-bowl-san-francisco

Post Chapel – http://www.interfaith-presidio.org/chapel/index.html

Inn at the Presidio – http://www.yelp.com/biz/inn-at-the-presidio-san-francisco-2

Letterman Digital Arts Center – http://www.yelp.com/biz/yoda-fountain-at-lucasfilms-hq-san-francisco

Lovers Lane – http://foundsf.org/index.php?title=Lovers_Lane

Ocean & Beaches

Fort Point – http://www.yelp.com/biz/fort-point-san-francisco

Lobos Creek – http://www.bahiker.com/sfhikes/loboscreek.html

Baker Beach – http://www.parksconservancy.org/visit/park-sites/baker-beach.html

cropped-IMG_0341.jpg

MISSION/VALENCIA STREET

Dog-Eared Books – http://www.yelp.com/biz/dog-eared-books-san-francisco

826 Valencia – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/826_Valencia

Dandelion Chocoloate – http://www.yelp.com/biz/dandelion-chocolate-san-francisco

Borderlands Books – http://www.yelp.com/biz/borderlands-books-san-francisco

Clarion Alley – http://www.yelp.com/biz/clarion-alley-san-francisco

Mission Dolores de San Francisco – http://missiondolores.org/old-mission/visitor.html

THE AVENUES

Clement Street (from 2nd Ave. to 7th Ave.)

Aroma Tea Shop – http://www.yelp.com/biz/aroma-tea-shop-san-francisco-5

Burma Super – http://www.yelp.com/biz/burma-superstar-san-francisco

King of Thai Noodle House – https://plus.google.com/118211915163209188296/about?gl=us&hl=en

6th Avenue Aquarium – http://www.sfweekly.com/bestof/2008/award/best-fish-and-flower-shop-1033139/

Genki Crepes  – http://www.yelp.com/biz/genki-crepes-san-francisco

Green Apple Books – http://www.greenapplebooks.com/

Q – http://www.qrestaurant.com/

Plough and the Stars – http://www.theploughandstars.com/

Irving Street (from 6th Ave. to 9th Ave.)

Irving Variety – http://www.yelp.com/biz/irving-variety-store-san-francisco

Pasquale’s Pizzeria – http://www.yelp.com/biz/pasquales-pizza-san-francisco-2

Naan-n-Curry – http://naancurry.net/

Kiki Sushi –   http://www.kitarosushi.com/kiki/about.html

Ebisu –  http://www.ebisusushi.com/

Le Video –  http://www.levideo.com/

Geary Blvd. (from 21st Ave. to the Cliff House)

Gastronom Deli & Bakery – http://gastronomsf.com/

Holy Virgin Cathedral – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holy_Virgin_Cathedral

Thom’s –  http://www.yelp.com/biz/thoms-natural-foods-san-francisco

Lands End –  http://www.parksconservancy.org/visit/park-sites/lands-end.html

101 Music in SF

101 Music at Grant and Green in SF.

More Areas to Visit

Found SF Neighborhood guide – http://foundsf.org/index.php?title=Category:Neighborhood/Geography

Cortland Avenue – http://www.yelp.com/list/cortland-avenue-san-francisco

Fredericksen’s hardware – http://www.yelp.com/biz/fredericksen-hardware-and-paint-san-francisco

Van Ness to Octavia – http://www.sfgate.com/neighborhoods/sf/hayesvalley/

Japantown
Peace Plaza – http://sfjapantown.org/

Larkin Street – http://sanfrancisco.menupages.com/restaurants/all-areas/civic-center/vietnamese/

Potrero Hill
The REAL “crookedest street” (Vermont Street/20th) –
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vermont_Street_%28San_Francisco%29

Tenderloin
Join a walking tour – http://www.sfcityguides.org/desc.html?tour=79

Cow Hollow
Union Street – http://www.unionstreetshop.com/

West Portal
Cinearts West Portal theatre –  http://www.yelp.com/biz/cinearts-at-the-empire-san-francisco

 

Condor Club

The stage at the Condor Club in North Beach.

ONE DAY/FOUR BLOCKS

NORTH BEACH/CHINATOWN — Broadway @ Columbus

10am – Breakfast: Café Trieste –  http://www.yelp.com/biz/caffe-trieste-san-francisco-5

11am – Grant Avenue walkabout: follow the Barbary Coast Trail – http://www.letsgoexploring.com/blog/2011/04/exploring-san-franciscos-barbary-coast-trail-north-beach/

12pm – Lunch: Molinari Deli – http://www.yelp.com/biz/molinari-delicatessen-san-francisco

1pm – Beat Museum – http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-beat-museum-san-francisco

2pm – Portsmouth Square (historic Chinatown park) – http://www.yelp.com/biz/portsmouth-square-san-francisco

3pm – Shop along Grant Avenue in Chinatown –  http://www.sanfranciscodays.com/chinatown/

4pm – Tea tasting at Vital Tea Leaf – http://www.yelp.com/biz/vital-tea-leaf-san-francisco

Turn right on Kerouac Alley…

5pm – City Lights Bookstore – http://www.citylights.com

6pm – Vesuvio and Spec’s  – http://www.yelp.com/biz/vesuvio-cafe-san-francisco

http://www.yelp.com/biz/specs-twelve-adler-museum-cafe-san-francisco-2

7pm – Dinner: North Beach Restaurant – http://www.northbeachrestaurant.com/

8pm – The Saloon (live blues) – http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-saloon-san-francisco

Beach Blanket Babylon (unique live theatre) – http://www.beachblanketbabylon.com/where/index.shtml

 *(More links and updates to be added in the future)